The Long and Winding Road

03/05/2017

I only buy expensive shoes and I usually get 10 years out of every pair, but I end up loving them so much that when the sole finally splits I can't bear to throw them away. Yep, I used to have like a see through mold of shoe goo on the right foot because my parents thought skate shoes cost too much money. I have no experience in repairing shoes, but I do a lot of repair work for skis/snowboards. I mean, I am going to be wearing the same things THIS spring as I did LAST spring. I have a duct shoe I wear disc golfing. Buying high-quality, welted dress shoes shouldn't be seen as an alternative for sneakers, but rather as an alternative for shitty dress shoes. Certainly wasting a tube on one pair of shoes, though, is cheaper than getting a new pair of shoes. I took my Mephisto dress shoes into Nordstroms to get resoled/reconditioned and it cost me $49. I'll wear out a cheap pair of shoes in 1-2 years easy, and then I'm perpetually paying for new shoes. If you are as hard on your shoes as I am, it will start to peel and separate after a few uses. Do not scrape your shoes on the tar, not only is it annoying, but it really does save your shoes. I bet I could make my steel toe cap boots that I wear everyday last 10 years Really? Shoe goo will only be a short temporary fix since your sole has already started to delaminate. Decent dress shoes, which you need if you wear them often, cost around $200 a pair.

Weren't skate shoes but probably were the best pair of skate shoes I've ever worn. I haven't had any success repairing shoes with shoe goo. How little are you wearing your dress shoes that you get 10 years out of them without resoling? Yes, my good dress shoes cost about that to fully resole, but they'll probably last 10 years too. Barge cement is some great stuff Barge Cement When I make shoes from scratch , this is always the go-to for soles. I'm not going skateboarding in dress shoes, nor am I wearing sneakers to work. I bought a pair of steel-toed Doc Martens when I was 18 or so, and wore them daily for about 5 years. I was continually using my shoes maybe 24 hours after applying and had to reapply very often. Those are extreme examples , but I definitely own wardrobe pieces that I can't wear year round. I work in a shoe store, and honestly, good shoes are a good investment. My first pair looks like this because I didn't know how to make them stay tight around my feet when I re- laced them. I just go to a department store and buy clearance shoes for skateboarding in. I have a pair of boots that were supposed to be high-quality but the sole started coming off. I am more of a classic casual type person, and want basic shoes that can work with anything.

I suppose it all depends on how you use your shoes, but it seems many people don't even know that a $100 pair of shoes is still cheap.

I've had that done on a few pairs of shoes, and if I recall, it was fairly inexpensive. It is a solvent based glue, the shoes will smell of solvent for 48 hours after use, plan for that. How long until it's more cost effective to do the dress shoes? All I have ever seen are men's boots and dress shoes. I own a dying pair that I have trouble letting go of.

When holes would start forming I would put a piece of tape on the inside and fill the hole with goo. I was a curler before I was a skater, and my habits were formed. Not to mention that $50 dress shoes are not going to be comfortable enough for day-in, day-out wear. I just meant I don't throw out my whole wardrobe every season and get new stuff.

I daresay you may be using it wrong, I get a hundred miles of walking on pavement out of using it to build up a quarter inch of sole wear. I totally WTF'ed and nearly fell off my bike when I saw him. I would feel embarrassed bringing my £18 shoes in for repair Unfortunately it tends to come down to how much you love them anymore. Your shoe looks like a Star Wars space slug Barge cement Yep shoe goo, found at your local Walmart I am sure Shoe goo or E6000 glue is what I've used in the past. I was impressed by the goo, and I'm a creature of habit, who walks a predictable distance per day. Sounds similar to me, but then I realized you have to actually let it sit for 48 hours. If you happen to be in Minneapolis, I can recommend the one I go to! Strong, flexible, water tight, and well-worth the cost I think Barge is the hidden gem of costume land! I would like to know more about casual shoes that are worthy of cobbling. Those shoes uptop let's say cost 30$ but you can't resole, and they only last 2 years instead of 10. If you have a pair of boots for crappy weather, and asics sneakers for better weather you'll keep your shoes for years. I think I could easily wear them another ten years. Shoe goo? I bought a pair of dunlop volley's the other day that cost $5. I am a woman, and just want some REALLY GOOD BIFL* casual shoes! Our shop is in lawyer's row with banks surrounding them, and we do 100-200 pairs of higher end shoes monthly.

Being a fellow skate shoe owner, I know how cheap the rubber is on the soles.

Most cobblers can't or won't repair this sort of shoe, I thinks it's to do with the material being too difficult reattach permanently. I've done more casual searching than I care to admit, just to find a pair of dress shoes that work with my suit and jeans that isn't made of corrected leather. I bought two pairs of Mephisto shoes from Nordstroms at around $300 per. I've never actually played with Sugru, so I don't know how close the DIY substitute is in terms of quality. Use contact cement for that floppy sole or anytime you want the shoe put back together water tight FOR A LONG TIME. Shoe goo pro tip! I didn't mean I would be wearing winter clothes in the summer. Played soccer in HS and was broke so ShoeGoo held my shoes together a bit longer but eventually it would break down. My hometown of 35,000 has a cobbler. the town of 80,000 where I went to university had at least 2. that being said, take it to your local shoe repair, they'll only charge you more to fix what you screw up. I still ruin all my shoes this way, though. It's like $100 to resole a pair of Goodyear welted leather dress shoes. Maybe if you only wear your dress shoes to church on Sundays. Normal people I see skateboarding have a foot on the front, and push with the foot that will end up on the back. My mother was the one that showed me Shoe Goo because she was fed up with me burning through shoes so fast, because I skated back then.

Well, what women's fashion leaders seem to want is for us to change shoes with the seasons along with our outfits. You said you can buy sneakers for less than the cost of resoling dress shoes, which is also true, but it's also not a very viable solution for someone in need of dress shoes. I hope someone else will pipe up and mention what tools they use with this amazing glue. Sneakers and dress shoes fill totally different roles and have totally different expectations of them. I would only pay to have $200 and up shoes resoled/cobbled. I've heard some skateboarders end up with shoes that are more shoe-goo than real shoe before they finally give up and buy a new pair. Once found a pair of Ben shermans that looked like Adidas campus shoes.

Get yourself a cheap pair of insoles like superfeet for your ill-supported skate shoes and you'll thank yourself after you get used to them. I used an entire bottle of super glue on each and they've held up for over a year and half since then. I was still better than all of them, got shit every time we went out though. Meanwhile, I'll spend $250 on a pair of shoes that will outlast 5 of those $50 pairs, and match just as many outfits. $35 for a pair of dress shoes, soles and heels. A lot of the times we would put some shoe goo on seams before using them. For example, camo is about done, but I can probably get another year out of my camo bowtie. It works surprisingly well- which is to say, not great, but I walk a lot, and it stays intact for about a hundred miles. They stay busy with all the expensive shoes the business execs in the downtown offices wear. I'm pretty close to neutral, but thanks for your concern :) I used to overpronate a lot when I was younger If you are wanting to go cheaper, try super glue. Ugly as sin but I was a teenager and couldn't talk to girls anyway.

I work in a kitchen, so mine MUST stay watertight. Okay, 10 year life span, 100$ resole, 10 more years for the dress shoes. That $400 pair of shoes cost me $114. So let's be a bit more reasonable and say $400 for the shoes, new soles every 2 years. One day I will own shoes worthy of cobbling. Worked great for waterproofing worn spots, but anything sole related will be short lived, in my experience.

I've even used it to build up worn spots on the sole of a shoe. My sister had one pair of work shoes for 3 years that way. I agree with most of these ideas listed, so I'm not going to repeat them. I have the same shoes. The uppers held up remarkably well, but the sole is basically worn smooth; they have no traction anymore. I settled on full grain shoes from Wolverine.

Our shoes are a lot more versatile , but there are limits - no white bucks in the winter, no high dress boots in the summer. if you dont want them done, I send them back to you o problem, free shipping.

I know its frowned upon but it feels so much more natural for me. I have a few pairs of really nice boots, and it's cheaper to have them re-soled than it is to buy new pairs. Alternatively, if you have cracks on your sole, chances are the shank has come loose, and that will also be covered by warranty. It isn't so much as left hand left foot but which ever foot you step forward onto when pushed from behind. But it makes it easier to turn the skateboard while you're stopped/pushing because your foot is on a pivot point. It's cheaper to walk 'properly' than fix shoes.

Stay away for Gorilla glue for things like shoes that need to be flexible. :P I just always buy german army boots, they hold for 5-6 years until they fall apart, are really comfortable, absolutely watertight and are 70 - 90 EUR. You can buy a pair of shoes like the OP's for less than the cost of resoling a pair of dress shoes. I may just resurrect my old reebok classics thanks to you! He has his foot on the back of the board all the time, and pushes with the front foot.

Yea they cost over $300, but if they last me over 5-6 years then I am seeing some savings and still have a great looking shoe.

I wouldn't wear corduroy in the summer, nor seersucker in the winter. Shoe goo is great, a tube costs five or six bucks, and repairs all of your shoes for a year or two, the tube will dry up before it runs out.

It's sort of an academic argument, though, because the shoes don't serve the same purpose. Its a real pain in the ass because you arent nearly as stable. ive tried many times to correct it but I just cant skate any other way. they have an awesome glue that will be able to fix that no problem. A perfectly accurate report would be something like "It lasted a month and half of walking a couple miles a day".

Put show on and apply as much glue as you can before the glue hardens, step down and wait 10 seconds. When you do, you'll spend less money on buying new shoes all the time. I would walk one hundred miles, and I would walk 100 fair, just to be the man who walks 100 miles and has his souls to spare In my experience, Shoe Goo is not great. Shoe Goo I would use epoxy. Sneakers and shitty dress shoes can't be resoled. Sailing shoes / topsiders wear out very quickly.

Also, if you can't find shoe goo, get plumber's goo. I enjoy practicing pushing regular and goofy and mongo for either.

All I'm saying is, do the math for the shoes you are/should be wearing.

shoe-goo the shoes then wear wool socks? Also - you'd pay $100 to resole a $50 pair of shoes? Duct tape covered in shoe goo quadrupled my shoe's life. I was going off of what Allen Edmonds charges for their recrafting service. Apparently they have a newer, lower-VOC formulation that isn't quite as good, but I was able to get the high-VOC formula and it works exceedingly well. It is squeaky, has no traction, and using a large amount creates a long lasting solvent smell, but it is surprisingly durable.

As a crafter, I use it for just about every thing.

Glad you posted it, it's exactly what I came here to suggest, too! I do a weird bowling slide with my right foot. I've never done that with sneakers, but I do that with my boots. Also, I have never found anything good to spread it on with. One of the "pro" names for Shoe Goo is E-6000, FYI. I think it is sold under different names for different purposes, but it is all the same stuff.

They polish em and give you new laces anytime you bring em in and they will resole it once.

I don't think I've seen any $50 shoes that are made of the kind of quality material that you'd actually be able to get it resolved in 10 years, let alone 5. So please, if you re lace them so you don't have to tie them, lace them tightly. If you really want this to adhere, rub down one surface with water before you apply the glue. Seems like something that should not be happening, I've only had them 2 years and only wear them in the winter generally. What's sad is that I have found a few pairs of shoes through the years that are great, and last for a few years and then when I finally have to replace them, they don't make them anymore. Thanks, I just bought a tube of E-6000 off amazon.

Use an ice cube to smooth it out so you don't get that shit on your hands! If they are expensive and are worth it, you could take them to a cobbler and try and get them resoled. Most types bond chemically with the rubber rather than just sticking on like shoe good does and cost about the same amount from your local hardware supply shoe goo! Where I grew up it was called garbage footing.

I like to just stay mobile on a board. It's cheaper than shoe goo and does ten times the job. We have addapted to the 21st century by keeping up with social media and targeting our biggest demographic.

we have only have a handful of suppliers left in the entire US. Where are you and do you take long-distance customers? Would make shoes last a bit longer.

I can't tell from this though, it might be able to resoled. No shoe's sole is going to last 10 years of day-in-day-out wear. I have learned that plumbers epoxy works extremely well. Shoe goo is good. I took it to a cobbler and he did some sort of fix bht hbe said that most of his glues would dissolve the vinyl so he couldn't use them on my pair. Let's say the shoes initially cost 50$. As with any glue, you need to clean the surfaces well before glueing. The guy you replied to was talking about shoes worthy of cobbling, saying they're more frugal than buying new shitty dress shoes all the time because having them resoled is cheaper than buying a whole new pair. I push with either foot depending. I know this is off topic by now. It has worked wonders for me in the past and you can get some for ~$1😛. We're all fashion enthusiasts, and it blows my mind how many pairs of $50 shoes they go through - they're poorly-made and fall apart after a couple of months! I bought 4 pairs.

Also, if the rubber is smooth you could rough it up with sandpaper to improve adhesion. Agreed on the Gorilla Glue, it's great but it ends up almost like that magic foam spray stuff. If you've never worked with it before, you should know that the tube doesn't last forever.

We try to encourage replacing leather outsoles with rubber because in upstate NY where we live, the salt water kills them quickly.

Be sure to run a bead around the outside edge on that flap to seal them up again. Shoes effect how you walk which in turn effects a lot of muscle groups and your lower back.
Tel.: (789) 654-3210
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started